Posted in life, lists, Uncategorized

Bucket List #9

Number nine on my bucket list is to Name a Star. I really have wanted to do this one for a long time now and so I sat down and researched it. I found out some interesting things about naming stars that I didn’t know before.

Only the International Astronomical Union (IAU) has the official authority to name the stars and they don’t like to share that authority. Yes there are company’s out there and for anywhere from $19.99 to $49.99 they will sell you star naming packages to name a star that will be yours. They really are only just charging for the fun and nicely printed out certificates you get with your stars name and location on it. Since the IAU will NOT allow anyone else to name the stars, naming the stars is just for fun and it is purely a symbolic act. It will not be formally recognized by anyone, and no one can ever really own a star.

That being said I found a site that is upfront about recognizing all of this and they will let you name a star for free. They will charge you if you want their premium services but the basics are free. That site is

staracle.com

It is just for fun and the star names won’t be officially recognized but I still got to name my star.

I named my star for my Dad who passed away and I chose the Greek translation of his name. It means “wreath, crown, honor, or reward” literally “that which encompasses or surrounds”. My dedication to my Dad says “I’ll see you on the other side of the stars!”

star

Author:

I am a new blogger learning how this all works. My kids are all grown and so now I am finding new ways to fill my time. I look forward to sharing my writing with all of you!

One thought on “Bucket List #9

Leave a Reply

